• Business Overview
  • Board
  • History
  • Executive directors

    C G MacLean – Chief Executive Officer

    Joined the Group and was appointed to the Board in January 2015. Prior to appointment he was a senior board executive of INEOS and was a founder member of the business in 1998.


    S G Bennett – Chief Financial Officer

    Joined the Group in April 2015 and was appointed to the Board on 1 May 2015. Prior to appointment he was at INEOS Group where he had been Chief Financial Officer at Petroineos Refining Limited, a JV between INEOS Group AG and PetroChina, since 2006. In addition to this role, he was also Chief Financial Officer of a number of other operations within the INEOS Group.  He qualified as a chartered accountant with Coopers & Lybrand Deloitte in 1990, working in public company assurance and mergers and acquisitions in Leeds and New York. 

    Non-executive directors

    N A Johnson ²  – Chairman

    Joined the Board in September 2011 and was appointed Chairman in May 2012. He is Chairman of Motability Operations Group plc and e2v technologies plc and the senior independent non-executive Director of the Business Growth Fund.

    The Hon. A G Catto

    Joined the Board in 1981. He is Managing Director of CairnSea Investments Limited, a private investment company, and a non-executive Director of several early stage companies that have been backed by CairnSea. 

    J Chen

    Joined the Board in October 2012. He is a corporate Vice President of Alcoa Inc and a board member of China Zhong Nan University. 

    B W D Connolly ¹  ²  ³ 

    Joined the Board on 20 January 2014. Until June 2013 he was a senior executive at Intertek Group plc and had previously been Chief Executive Officer of Moody International (which was acquired by Intertek in 2011). He is a non-executive Director of Cape plc. 

    Dr J Jansz  ¹  ³

    Joined the Board in April 2012. Until July 2010 he was Head, Technology Business, and a member of the management team of LyondellBasell. He is founder and Managing Director of Expertise Beyond Borders BV, an independent technology management consultancy.

    C Johnstone 

    Joined the Board on 20 March 2015. Until June 2009 she was a partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers. She is Deputy Chair, Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of Leeds Teaching Hospital Trust, an independent member of the Audit Committee of the Crown Prosecution Service, England and Wales and a member of the governing Council of the University of Leeds.


    Dato’ Lee Hau Hian

    Joined the Board in 1993 and stood down in 2000 to become an Alternate Director. He rejoined the Board in 2002. He is a Director of Kuala Lumpur Kepong Bhd and Batu Kawan Bhd. 

    ¹ Member of Audit Committee.

    ² Member of Nomination Committee.

    ³ Member of Remuneration Committee.

    Investor Relations » Synthomer plc » Board